Have a symptom?
See what questions
a doctor would ask.

Types of Sinusitis

Sinusitis: Types list

The list of types of Sinusitis mentioned in various sources includes:

  • Acute Sinusitis - lasts less than 3 weeks
  • Chronic Recurrent - longer than 3 weeks
  • Recurrent Recurrent - repeated bouts
  • Frontal sinus infection
  • Maxillary sinus infection
  • Ethmoid sinus infection
  • Sphenoid sinus infection
  • Bacterial sinusitis
  • Fungal sinusitis
  • Chronic Sinusitis

Types discussion:

Health care experts usually divide sinusitis cases into

  • Acute, which lasts for 3 weeks or less
  • Chronic, which usually lasts for 3 to 8 weeks but can continue for months or even years
  • Recurrent, which is several acute attacks within a year
(Source: excerpt from Sinusitis, NIAID Fact Sheet: NIAID)

Sinusitis: Rare Types

Rare types of medical conditions and diseases in related medical categories:

Sinusitis: Related Disease Topics

More general medical disease topics related to Sinusitis include:

Research More About Sinusitis


By using this site you agree to our Terms of Use. Information provided on this site is for informational purposes only; it is not intended as a substitute for advice from your own medical team. The information on this site is not to be used for diagnosing or treating any health concerns you may have - please contact your physician or health care professional for all your medical needs. Please see our Terms of Use.

Home | Symptoms | Diseases | Diagnosis | Videos | Tools | Forum | About Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Advertise